Where were you when…

I was on the way home from school and I stopped off in a sweet shop. I heard a couple of the older students mention something like, ‘Has another plane hit?’ which caught my attention for a moment but I carried on.
After school, I used to stay with my grandmother until my parents finished work. I came in and sat down but my usual schedule of cartoons was sadly interrupted by the images that would forever be our JFK. Our ‘Where were you when…’moment.
I had never realised just how astonishingly massive the World Trade Centre was. It was only a couple of years before that I found out that they were the tallest buildings in the world and not the Empire State Building as I had believed.
As I sat and watched the smoke pouring out of the tower, I felt as though I had left reality.I didn’t feel anything, I didn’t know what to feel.
I don’t remember anything about the reporters words. I had never paid much attention to the news.
The clearest thing I do remember is seeing the third plane approach the tower. It was a sudden jolt back to reality when, in that split second, I relised it was going to happen again.
The plane disappeared behind the other tower and an explosion tore through its twin.
I won’t go through the rest of the afternoon as you all know how it went.
That night, I was sitting at the kitchen table. My dad was heading to bed. I never considered him very sentimental. He’d be more likely to high five me rater than hug me. It was the same sentiment, just a different method.
On the way out of the kitchen, he bade me goodnight, placed a hand on my shoulder and kissed the top of my head.
After he left, I wiped a tear from my cheek.

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

